Dendrobium Yondi Tina 'Goliath'

  Ira Butler Trophy > Ira Butler Trophy 1999


Ira Butler Trophy 1999

The Gold Ira Butler Trophy 1999 for the Champion Australian Native Orchid Hybrid of the Year was awarded to Dendrobium Yondi Tina 'Goliath' FCC/AOC-NSW, FCC/ANOS.

This superb orchid was the Grand Champion of the ANOS Warringah Group Inc. Spring Show this year, when it received its FCC from the ANOS judges - the first FCC ever awarded by ANOS. The following week it was awarded an FCC by the Orchid Society of New South Wales and AOC. It was the winner of the Gold Ira Butler Trophy in 1997, when it was awarded an AM/ANOS. The plant carried five large inflorescences of fully open deep golden yellow flowers of excellent quality.

The plant is owned by Bernie Fletcher and was bred by Sid Batchelor. It is D. Star of Gold 'Bathurst' x D. Nerang 'Tina'. It contains the following species in its breeding: D. speciosum 25%, D. falcorostrum 25%, D. tetragonum 25%, D. fleckeri 12.5%, D. kingianum 6.25%, D. jonesii 6.25%.

Of the 37 plants nominated this year, 13 were from ANOS groups, 1 from NOSSA, 14 from State Affiliated Societies, 5 from State Societies, 3 were awarded plants and 1 from Ken Russell's Dungong Show.

The following ten 'runners up' will receive Silver Ira Butler Trophies

  • Pterostylis Sentinel - Alan & Dorren Garner (Hybridiser: Les Nesbitt)
  • Dendrobium Jesmond Charm 'Abbey' HCC/AOC, HCC/ANOS - Brian Miller (Hybridiser: John Purvis)
  • Dendrobium X delicatum 'Pink Betty' - Down Under Native Orchids (Hybridiser: N&M Finch)
  • Dendrobium Star of Riverdene 'Tumbi' - Down Under Native Orchids (Hybridiser: Down Under Native Orchids)
  • Dendrobium (Elegant Heart x Kathking) 'Tracy' HCC/AOC-NSW - Bernie Fletcher (N&M Finch)
  • Dendrobium Kayla 'Top Cat' - Colin Brandon (Hybridiser: Colin Brandon)
  • Plectochilus Harlequin - David Butler (Hybridiser: David Butler)
  • Dendrobium Kardinia - Henk van den Berg (Hybridiser: Reg Sheen)
  • Dendrobium Border Sunset 'Helen' - Norm & Kay Mitchell (Hybridiser: Stewart Penman)
  • Sarcochilus First Light 'Splash' - Rob Lewry (Hybridiser: N&M Finch)

The following will receive Ira Butler Certificates

  • Dendrobium Elegant Nancy 'Phillis' - Albert Sherwood
  • Dendrobium Hilda Poxon 'Oakville' - Norm & Kay Mitchell
  • Dendrobium Duno Superlocks 'Sylvia' - Paul Wheeler
  • Dendrobium Candy 'Moonraker' - FJ Vernon
  • Dendrobium Vintage 'Candy' - Norm & Kay Mitchell
  • Dendrobium Tie Die 'Magic Moment' - Norm & Kay Mitchell
  • Dendrobium Tie Die 'Magic Moment' - Norm & Kay Mitchell (two nominations)
  • Dendrobium Duno Vivspot - F&H Vernon
  • Dendrobium Duno Brugundy Sheen 'Taylah' HCC/AOC-NSW - Bernie Fletcher
  • Sarcochilus First Light 'Hangover' - Rob Lewry
  • Dendrobium Kayla 'Eva' - Rob Lewry
  • Dendrobium Brinawa Charm - G&M Hazeldine
  • Dendrobium Graham Hewitt - David & Pat Harmer
  • Sarcochilus Melody 'Measels' - Colin Brandon
  • Dendrobium (Gillian Leaney x Nunkumbil) - Iris & David Freeman
  • Dendrobium Star of Riverdene 'Jeanie' - John Douglas
  • Sarcochilus Cherie's Wine - John Douglas
  • Dendrobium Jayden - Alan & Bibi Baker
  • Dendrobium Stunning 'Amy' - Alan & Bibi Baker
  • Dendrobium Avril's Gold 'Gold Flame' - Bill Fisher
  • Dendrobium Red Ballerina - Michael Harrison
  • Dendrobium Tawhai - Barry & Beattie Khann
  • Dendrobium Anne's Rainbow Surprise - A&A Kelly
  • Dendrobium Hilda Poxon 'Joan Martin' HCC-ACC/AOC-QOS - Malcolm & Kerry Martin
  • Sarcochilus Victoria 'Yannie's Quest' - D&L Brown
  • Dendrobium (Brinawa Charm 'Plum' x falcorostrum) - MJ Britton


Page Updated: 16 Feb 2010 | Sitemap