Dockrillia cucumerina


Bill Murdoch Trophy > Bill Murdoch Trophy 2004


Bill Murdoch Trophy 2004

The Bill Murdoch Trophy for Champion Australian Native Orchid Species of the Year has been awarded to Dockrillia cucumerina 'Margaret' AM-ACC/AOC-NSW.

This magnificent plant, owned by Fred Fear, was granted an Award of Merit and Award of Cultural Commendation by the Orchid Society of New South Wales and Australian Orchid Council on 24 November 2003.

The Committee was very impressed by two other nominations and determined they were both worthy of Certificates of Special Recognition. They are Dendrobium bigibbum var. superbum 'Samantha' HCC/QOS (2004) owned by Ross and Rhonda Harvey and bred by David Littman, and Dendrobium speciosum var. curvicaule 'Misty Mountain' owned by Lorraine and Bill Dobson.

Of the 30 nominations this year, 9 were known to have been line-bred. 15 were from State or AOC or OSCOV affiliated societies, 9 were from ANOS groups including the Campbelltown Conference, 2 from NOSSA, 1 from the Native Orchid Society of Toowoomba and 4 eligible by reason of having received quality awards during the relevant period. Again the vast majority of nominated plants were dendrobiums.

The following will receive a Bill Murdoch Certificate

  • Caladenia latifolia- Nesbitt's Orchids
  • Cymbidium canaliculatum 'Stanley Timothy' - Bruce Allan Truloff
  • Dendrobium discolor var. broomfieldii 'Steve's Choice' HCC/AOC-QOS (2004) - Bruce Allan Truloff
  • Dendrobium discolor var. broomfieldii 'Patricia' HCC/AOC-NSW (2004) - K&P Greenwood
  • Dendrobium kingianum 'Kings Park' - HCC/AOC (2004) - Michael Muzslai
  • Dendrobium kingianum 'Rose Anne' - Ros & Tom Fitzgerald
  • Dendrobium lithocola - Graeme & Maureen Hazledine
  • Dendrobium speciosum - Malcolm Tiggerman
  • Dendrobium speciosum 'Ben' - Anthony Woodbine
  • Dendrobium speciosum 'Kate's Special' - Peter Gibson
  • Dendrobium speciosum ('John Lynch' x 'Windermere') - Dennis Wood
  • Dendrobium speciosum 'Watellow' x Dendrobium speciosum var. curvicaule 'Daylight Moon' - Andrew Perkins
  • Dendrobium speciosum var. curvicaule 'Clarrie' - Clarence & Beryl Wuth
  • Dendrobium speciosum var. speciosum 'Heather' - Ron & Heather Campbell
  • Dendrobium speciosum var. speciosum 'Windermere' - Norm & Kay Mitchell
  • Dendrobium teretifolium 'Mem. John McKay' HCC/OSCOV(2004) - Philip Grech
  • Diuris maculata 'Audree' AM/ANOS (2004) - Alan Dash
  • Liparis reflexa - W Clark
  • Dockrillia striolata 'Ruffles' HCC/ANOS (1992) - Down Under Native Orchids
  • Dockrillia teretifolia var. fairfaxii - Wally Walloscheck
  • Dockrillia teretifolia - F&H Vernon
  • Dockrillia nugentii 'Jeffrey' AM/ANOS (1998), AM/AOC-NSW (2002) - Fred Fear
  • Phalaenopsis amabillis 'Annette' - Annette & Peter Stubbs
  • Pterostylis curta - Nita Wheeler
  • Pterostylis curta - Bill & Ruth Clark
  • Pterostylis robusta - Nesbitt's Orchids
  • Sarcochilus hartmannii 'Kerrilly' - Down Under Native Orchids



Page Updated: 2 March 2010 | Sitemap